Journal TAL (Traitement automatique des langues) [NLP] Regular issue 2008-1

Journal TAL regular issue 2008

Computational Linguistics Artificial Intelligence



2008 Volume 49 Number 1.
Deadline for submission: 30th November 2007



Christian Retoré (Université Bordeaux 1, INRIA-Futurs, LaBRI-CNRS)
François Yvon (LIMSI-CNRS, Université Paris-Sud, Orsay)
Pierre Zweigenbaum.(LIMSI-CNRS, Orsay)


The TAL journal launches a call for papers for an open issue of the
journal. We invite papers in any field of natural language
processing, including:

- lexicon, syntax, semantics, discourse and pragmatics;
- morphology, phonology and phonetics;
- spoken and written language analysis and generation;
- logical, symbolic and statistical models of language;
- information extraction and text mining;
- multilingual processing, machine translation
and translation tools;
- natural language interfaces and dialogue systems;
- multimodal interfaces with language components;
- language tools and resources;
- system evaluation;
- terminology, knowledge acquisition from texts;
- information retrieval;
- corpus linguistics;
- use of NLP tools for linguistic modeling;
- computer assisted language learning;
- applications of natural language processing.

Whatever the topic, papers must stress the natural language
processing aspects.


Manuscripts may be submitted in English or French. French-speaking
authors are requested to submit in French.


TAL (Traitement Automatique des Langues / Natural Language Processing,
is a forty year old international journal published by ATALA (French
Association for Natural Language Processing) with the support of CNRS
(National Centre for Scientific Research).
It has moved to an electronic mode of publication, with printing on
demand. This affects in no way its reviewing and selection process.

The first electronic issues are online on the journal Web site:

- Issue 2006 47-1 "Varia",
published following a call similar to the present one:

- Special issue 2006 47-2
"Computational Approaches to Discourse and Document Processing"
"Discours et document : traitements automatiques"

The tables of contents for the 2004-2006 issues can be consulted at:

The tables of contents for the 1991-2004 issues can be found at:


30/11/2007 Deadline for submission
04/02/2008 Notification to authors
05/03/2008 Deadline for submission of revised version
Summer 2008 Publication


Authors who intend to submit a paper are encouraged to contact
one of the chief editors of the journal:

Christian Retoré (
François Yvon (
Pierre Zweigenbaum (

Contributions (25 pages maximum, PDF format) must be sent
by e-mail to the address below:

Style sheets are available for download at


Salah Aït-Mokhtar (Xerox Research Centre Europe, Grenoble, France)
Pierrette Bouillon (ETI/TIM/ISSCO, Université de Genève, Switzerland)
Didier Bourigault (CCLE-ERSS, CNRS, Toulouse, France)
Eric de la Clergerie (Alpage, INRIA & Université Paris 7, France)
Béatrice Daille (LINA, Université de Nantes, France)
Laurence Danlos (Université Paris 7, IUF, ALPAGE-INRIA, LATTICE-CNRS, France)
Marc El-Bèze (LIA, Université d'Avignon, France)
Patrice Enjalbert (GREYC, Université de Caen, France)
Dominique Estival (Appen, Sydney, Australia)
Eric Gaussier (LIG, Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble, France)
Nabil Hathout (CLLE-ERSS, CNRS & Université Toulouse 2, France)
Sylvain Kahane (Modyco, Université Paris 10 & Alpage, INRIA, France)
Philippe Langlais (RALI, Université de Montréal, Canada)
Guy Lapalme (RALI, Université de Montréal, Canada)
Eric Laporte (IGM, Université Paris-Est Marne-la-Vallée, France)
Alain Lecomte (CLIPS & INRIA-Futurs, Université Grenoble 2, France)
Yves Lepage (GREYC, Université de Caen, France)
Denis Maurel (Laboratoire d'Informatique,
Université François-Rabelais de Tours, France)
Piet Mertens (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium)
Jean-Luc Minel (Modyco, CNRS & Université Paris 10, France)
Fiammetta Namer (ATILF, Université Nancy 2, France)
Alexis Nasr (LIF, Université de la Méditerranée, France)
Adeline Nazarenko (LIPN, CNRS & Université Paris-Nord, France)
Patrick Paroubek (LIMSI, CNRS, Orsay, France)
Guy Perrier (LORIA, Université Nancy 2, France)
Marie-Paule Péry-Woodley (CCLE-ERSS, Université Toulouse 2, France)
Jean-Marie Pierrel (ATILF, Université Nancy 1, France)
Alain Polguère (OLST, Université de Montréal, Canada)
Martin Rajman (EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland)
Patrick Saint-Dizier (IRIT, CNRS, Toulouse, France)
Isabelle Tellier (Grappa, Université Lille 3 & INRIA Futurs, France)
Evelyne Tzoukermann (Comcast/StreamSage, Washington DC, USA)